Oatmeal Shortbread

If you’re looking for a fast, easy, and delicious shortbread cookie bar, you’ve got to try this! This is one of my mom’s favorites she gives at Christmas time, and has become one of the must-bake holiday cookies I make every year. It’s a very easy and delicious alternative to traditional shortbread. I took it to work where it was gobbled up in no time. Source: Sunset Cookbook of Favorite Recipes.

Here’s a little story to prove how idiot-proof this recipe is. Last year I whipped up a batch to give as a gift. As I took it out of the oven, I thought it looked a little pale. While cutting it, it fell apart into fine crumbs. I tasted a tiny bit, and it wasn’t one bit sweet. Whah??? I forgot to add the sugar!!! So, using a fork, I mashed the “cookies” into crumbs, added the sugar, mixed well, pressed the mix back into the same baking dish, and baked according to the recipe. The twice-baked version had a slightly toasty taste, and the recipient couldn’t get enough of them, saying “This could be a Starbucks cookie!” (The once-baked version is just as delicious!)

1-1/2 cups unsifted all-purpose flour
2/3 cup quick-cooking oats (I’ve used old-fashioned with excellent results)
1 cup (1/2 lb.) butter
2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl. Mix with your fingers until well-blended and crumbly.

Press the mixture firmly and evenly into a lightly buttered pan (10×15-inch).

Bake in a 300F oven for about 45 minutes. The edges will be light golden brown.

While it is still warm, cut into squares or bars, then allow to cool in pan.

NOTES:

  • My mom doubles the recipe in a large shallow pan.
  • I like to add a light sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on top before baking. Or, a small about of cinnamon can be added to the flour before mixing.

About 3 dozen 2-inch squares.

Leave a Reply

